Time to reflect 

A lot can happen in a year. Yesterday I had a moment of about ten seconds in which everything I’d done in the past year flew through my mind . I was in my Bums & Tums class soldiering through the ridiculous number of lunges she was making us do. My legs were on the verge of giving way and it suddenly occurred to me that I was doing the exact same thing at the moment, that I was doing almost a year before.  

This time last year I graduated from uni and moved back in with my parents. It was a scary and uncertain time. My life changed quite a bit when I moved back home and due to certain events occurring, it wasn’t the enjoyable and celebratory time that I had expected it to be.  But life went on and I needed to decide what it was I wanted to do with my life! That decision didn’t take long to make, but the career path I had chosen to go down wasn’t going to be an easy one to venture into.  Therefore, for eleven months I worked for free at different companies, gaining as much experience as I possibly could to stand a chance at getting myself my first permanent role in publishing.  I completed five work experience placements and an internship.  During this time I also worked in retail. Working for Jack Wills had its perks and the people I worked with were awesome but it wasn’t exactly how I wanted to spend my spare time when I wasn’t working in London. For the most part I was working 6 days a week for almost a year, 5 days a week not paid for.  I was working weekends purely for some extra pocket-money because there was absolutely no way I would have been able to have worked for free for so long without doing so. I knew it had to be done and no matter how tired I was or fed up with doing it (because it’s hard to keep that motivation going for such a long time), I kept going until finally I managed to get myself a job.  

Since starting my new job 6 weeks ago, I’ve stopped working on weekends which has obviously allowed me to have so much more time on my hands. Just being able to plan things but not needing to do it months in advance is great. I’ve been able to spend plenty of time with family and go out with my friends at home. I’ve got three holidays booked, plans to visit friends from uni and I’ve already started saving for my independence in the future. I know it all sounds pretty bog standard, but it wasn’t until last year that I realised I’ve taken all these little things for granted in the past.  

So to sum it up, this past year has been a roller coaster of a ride. I’ve worked for seven different companies, met numerous people, worked my bum off and had the satisfaction of being offered the first job I had an interview for. It hasn’t been easy, but believe me when I say that hard work does pay off and even when you feel like you’re not getting anywhere and you think you’ve hit a wall, you never know, just that extra bit of effort you put in could lead to what you’ve been waiting for right around the corner. If you’re currently striving to achieve a goal, keeping going, you will get there eventually. Those who know me well know that I put an awful lot of pressure on myself to do well and I can be really hard on myself at times. But for once in a long time I can safely say that I’m proud of what I’ve achieved in the past year and I’m looking forward to what the future may hold! 

Leave a Reply

